top of page

Up Close And Personal With Peruvian Healthcare


This machete is what they did his surgery with!! just kidding. Fortunately he didn't send any pictures of his toe so I thought I would add these pictures of him and his companion weeding a gardedn with machetes. He sent the pictures to Katie a couple weeks ago and I thought they belonged here =>.

On with his post:

This week was exciting, but as much as I like exciting things, I could have lived without exciting this week. I'm not overly fond of exciting when it means that I'm on the recieving end of sharp things in a doctor's office.

So in May I had an ingrown toenail removed, but recently the same toe has been giving me problems. We went to the doctor's office and he said I had a nice infection and that he would try to kill it with antibiotics. A whole lot of pills and 3 penicilin shots later, my toe looked the same. So he said they would be removing my whole toe nail.

So they numbed me up, started cutting- and then stopped to give me two more shots of numbing agent because I could feel it and it HURT. Afterwards he told me not to walk for a week and that we need to return to the clinic every day so they can clean my toe and change the bandage. (Which really doesn't feel very nice, especially since they used alcohol the first day. OWWW)

But my companion really doesn't get the no walking part, and he's forced me to walk all over creation, and apparently that wasn't good because today while they were cleaning it out, they were really scrubbing at it (oww) and getting onto us for walking. But they eventually stopped scrubbing it, and they went to change their gloves like they do every time they finish cleaning it and are about to put on a new bandage, so I let myself calm down and relax since the pain was over for today. And then the nurse pulled out a huge needle. Coincidentally, that was also when I started to get really tense again (it's funny how these things happen). She then proceeded to scrape at my wound where there used to be a toe nail, kinda like a dentist scrapes at your teeth with those metal instruments. Holy mother of Hades, that HURT!!!! (I think there was some dirt or something in the wound from me walking.) She then bandaged me up and chewed my companion out a bit more for the fact that I'd been walking.

So then when we walked out of the clinic, my companion told me (dead serious) that we would be walking to the place where we get on the internet and email (more than half a mile). I don't think I've flat out told companion ''no way'' for the whole 6 weeks I've been out- Until today. Because there is NO WAY I will EVER have my wound meet a needle EVER AGAIN!!!

--

Elder Fox


Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page