top of page

Lousy Landing In Iquitos


Ok, so it wasn't lousy, but I bet the pilot was super embarassesd. We came in to land, and I guess the pilot wasn't low enough because we DROPPED. Super fast. It was more intense than a roller coaster. And then we were about to touch down, and I guess there wasn't enough runway left for us to land, becuase suddenly the engines roared, we were thrown back into our seats, and we took off agian, turned around and then landed. Everyone was screaming for that really intense part, but I thought it was super awesome. But then again, that's the opinion of someone who was severely disappointed when we didn't have to make an emergency landing in the Amazon river, so you can probably take it with a grain of salt.

When we stepped off of the plane- BOOM the air hit you. It makes Mississippi feel like a freezer. Heck has nothing like the heat of Iquitos. And we have no AC. (but I didn't expect any, so it's fine)

I'm not serving in the jungle, just an area in Iquitos called Secada. Our house is a mansion compared to everyone else's, but it's really creeepy, too. It has 3 bedrooms, a massive kitchen, a huge shower (cold water only), and a large living space. All of that just for two Elders. And we don't even cook our food, a lady in the ward is paid to do it, which is really awesome. She is amazing

We found a friend in our house last night. After we moved him outside, my companion told me that if it had bitten me, I would probably either die or have a rotten week on anti-venoms.

I also managed to slice my finger on my aluminum blade fan. This is what the fan looked like after it met my finger. Imagine how my finger felt. (I took the guard off for the picture.)

And this is my companion. He's pretty awesome, but he knows pretty much no English.

Spanish is.... coming...? I can hardly understand anything or say anything, but I've only been out for a week, so I'm just studying and not really worrying.

--

Elder Fox


Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page