top of page

Comiendo Crocodile and Celestial Showers


Yep, this week I got to eat fried crocodile. It was really good, somewhat like chicken, but not. It was pretty delicious.

So since I'm a gringo, I need a 2 year visa, and that can only be acquired in Lima. So me and 4 other elders from my district in the CCM went to Lima this week. It was amazing. No, we didn't have another exciting landing like when we first got to Iquitos, but we had some massive turbulance that made the plane feel like the wind was just tossing it around. I thought that was pretty cool.

We landed in Lima, and the guy who would be driving us told us that we were still waiting for another 2 flights with other Elders who's cards had been lost by the mission office (oops) and needed to renew them. So we had 2 hours to hit the airport food court. They had a deal at Papa Juan's get one pizza, get a second for one sol ($0.33), so we took advantage of that. And it was thanksgiving, too, which we hadn't even realized until we were eating pizza.

Then we went to our hotel. Even by American standards, this was a NICE hotel. They spent a pretty penny on us.

But the best part was the shower. After living for 4 weeks with a shower that gets it's water from the Arctic, a warm shower was sounding pretty nice. So I got in the shower, and just froze. It was kind of like if you're too scared to move, but I was just too happy to move. I was staring at that beautiful little lever, and I knew that if I lifted it and turned it, then hot water would come out. And that was just too happy of a thought for me, so I literally just froze there staring at it. Eventually, I did figure out how to move my arms again, and a lifted it and twisted it... and freezng cold water came out because this is Peru and they switched up the hot and cold. But I did manage to brave the cold water and twist it to warm. And I just have to say, heaven has a lot to live up to if it wants to be better than that warm shower.

--

Elder Fox


Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page